less than the least


Gilgal Clothing. passion, faith, music, wearable art. Part 3of3
March 24, 2009, 9:20 pm
Filed under: Blog | Tags: , , , ,

Gilgal Clothing is the unique designs of Josh Burgin, who was inspired to create the line of T-shirts out of his passion for music and his faith. Each design has its own background story and message.

Gilgal Clothing

Gilgal Clothing

This post is the last of three posts featuring an interview with Burgin. To read the first or second post, please scroll down the page or visit the Gilgal Clothing link in the upper left hand corner, where all three posts will be found.

In this post, Burgin discusses the future of Gilgal Clothing and gives some great advice for aspiring designers.

Burgin in one of his designs.

Burgin in one of his designs.

What has been difficult about starting Gilgal Clothing and keeping it going?

Business. There is a lot of work that goes into keeping a company afloat.

After we did Cornerstone, I realized this was no longer a hobby or just an artistic outlet. It was something that could stand on its own if I wanted it too. Thus, to keep it going I would have to get organized.

I am still at that point. I have slowed down and stepped back to figure out the business side of things, so I can make Gilgal long term. Then when I start producing more shirts, there will be a way to get them out to people. I really look forward to that day!

What advice do you have for other aspiring designers that want to start their own lines?

Stick with it! It’s a lot of fun, but to get it past a hobby takes a lot of work and a lot of learning.

With that being said, don’t be afraid to ask questions of those you look up to. They were at the starting line once too. I was surprised just how willing, even excited, most were to talk shop with me and answer any of my questions.

Everything is a learning experience. Take it all in, even your mistakes!

I heard that you might be releasing new designs soon. Do you know when that might be?

Well, that is partially true. When? I can’t give that away, but I will tell you 2009 is bringing a fresh Gilgal! In fact I will let you in on a little secret. We will be putting out a full website and store, with completely new branding this year, and that of coarse means new shirts!

Sneak peak of the new Gilgal Clothing branding

Sneak peak of the new Gilgal Clothing branding

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

