less than the least


Gilgal Clothing. passion, faith, music, wearable art. Part 1of3
March 11, 2009, 4:13 am
Filed under: Blog | Tags:

Josh Burgin in one of his Gilgal designs.

Josh Burgin in one of his Gilgal designs

Gilgal Clothing is the blood, sweat and tears of Josh Burgin. Gilgal grew out of Burgin’s passion for art and design, his faith and influences from the Christian music scene.

I was able to ask Burgin some questions about Gilgal, and his answers were so awesome that I couldn’t bare to cut them short. I wanted everyone to be able read the entire story of Gilgal, so there will be three posts answering the questions.

This first post explores the beginning of Gilgal.

Could you tell me about Gilgal Clothing, and how it got started?

Well, a T-shirt company being interviewed by a music blog might seem a little strange to those unfamiliar with Gilgal, so I’ll start at the beginning.

For me music was a life saver. As I grew up, I was never really into sports or anything like that. I loved music and art. The Christian music scene gave me a place to identify with people, build relationships and have heroes. People on that stage had a relationship with Jesus that I didn’t see anywhere else.

Going to concerts became a passion, a passion that I attempted to imitate by playing music as well, and I failed miserably.

I ended up spending just as much time watching bands as I did studying their merchandise. It was something I could appreciate, and be a part of.

I always considered myself an artist. It’s all I ever wanted to be, besides the short musician stint and a young veterinarian obsession that every kid goes through.

I began collecting T-shirts from every show I went to. I would purchase unique stickers, buttons and posters. I became obsessed with t-shirts, band merchandise and design.

At one point I owned over 100 different unique T-shirts, that all meant something in their own way.

It was six years ago, in my high school art class that I was first introduced to “silk screening,” the process used to create designs on T-shirts. I was hooked.

I carried that passion to college where I was haphazardly introduced to the world of print design. I changed my major from fine art to graphic design with illustration.

It was during that time I discovered I could design and print all the things I came to love in the music scene. As I began to hone my craft, I found opportunities to design shirts and actually work in the screen printing business, learning the process I loved so much.

Gigal Clothing designs

Gigal Clothing designs

In the spring of 2006, I began contemplating how I could use T-shirts as an art form, and at the same time be a participant in the scene that had shaped my childhood. The people that are a part of the music scene are the ones that really embrace Gilgal. They are familiar with concept of wearing art and making a statement through fashion.

Once I felt this was something I really needed and even could do, the Lord started bringing people along side of me to help. My sister helped me find a name with deep meaning and shape the vision of Gilgal. (Check out our Myspace or ask us what the name Gilgal means to us.)

From there, I saved up all I could during the summer of 2006, and printed my first couple of designs. That fall Gilgal was born, and it has been a whirlwind ever since, from music festivals to my childhood friend helping me take Gilgal to the next level.

Check back for Post 2 of 3, which will discuss what band Burgin has worked with and more.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Interesting interview, and great idea breaking it up into segments!

Comment by Dana




Leave a Reply

